HRM and the AG Report – What You Can Do

If HRM Council must act quickly to restore public confidence in our elected government.

The path forward difficult (I wrote about it here), but Council must work to resolve this in a way that shows that politicians are responsible for their actions, and elected politicians will be held accountable.

A LOT OF COUNCILLORS ARE ON THE FENCE. You can play a role in helping raise the pressure on councillors to act in our best interests by letting them know what you think.

What can you do? Email your councilor.  Send a short email to your councilor demanding:

  • a public debate of the full HRM Council
  • a vote of censure of Mayor Peter Kelly, and
  • forwarding of the file to the RCMP for further investigation and/or the appropriate committee of the Provincial Legislature.
Streatch, Steven dist 1 E Shore-Musquodoboit Hbr streats@halifax.ca
Dalrymple, Barry dist 2 Waverley-Fall River-Beaverbank barry.dalrymple@halifax.ca
Hendsbee, David dist 3 Preston-Lawrencetown-Chez hendsbd@halifax.ca
Lorelei  Nicoll dist 4 Cole Harbour Lorelei.Nicoll@halifax.ca
McCluskey, Gloria dist 5 Dartmouth Centre mcclusg@halifax.ca
Fisher, Darren dist 6 E Dartmouth-The Lakes darren.fisher@halifax.ca
Karsten, Bill dist 7 Portland-East Woodlawn karsteb@halifax.ca
Barkhouse, Jackie dist 8 Woodside-Eastern Passage barkhoj@halifax.ca
Smith, Jim dist 9 Albro Lake-Harbourview smithj@halifax.ca
Wile, Mary dist 10 Clayton Pk W wilema@halifax.ca
Blumenthal, Jerry dist 11 Hfx Northend blumenj@halifax.ca
Sloane, Dawn Marie dist 12 Hfx-Downtown sloaned@halifax.ca
Uteck, Susan dist 13 NW Arm-Southend utecks@halifax.ca
Watts, Jennifer dist 14 Connaught-Quinpool jennifer.watts@halifax.ca
Walker, Russell dist 15 Fairview-Clayton Pk walkerr@halifax.ca
Hum, Debbie dist 16 Rockingham-Wentworth humd@halifax.ca
Mosher, Linda dist 17 Purcell’s Cove-Armdale mosherl@halifax.ca
Adams, Stephen D. dist 18 Spryfield-Herring Cove adamss@halifax.ca
Johns, Brad dist 19 Middle&Uppr Sckvlle-Lucsvlle johnsbr@halifax.ca
Harvey, Robert P. dist 20 Lower Sackville harveyb@halifax.ca
Tim Outhit dist 21 Bedford outhitt@halifax.ca
Rankin, Reg dist 22 Timberlea-Prospect rankinr@halifax.ca
Peter Lund dist 23 Hammonds Plains-St Mrgrt’s peter.lund@halifax.ca

 

If you do not know who your councilor is, you can look him or her up here:

http://eservices.halifax.ca/districtLookup/

 

  • K Allen

    I e-mailed my councilor, Dawn Sloane, twice. Suggested she and council were responsible for Mayor Kelly’s continuing position of power in the council and they should simply refuse to accept him as mayor in general, and certainly  as chair of meetings dealing with the Commons concerts scandal since there isn’t any way to actually force him out. This might be a radical solution but it seems to be the only one if he can’t be fired or forced to resign. Why should the councilors or we, the people, be obliged to show any respect to Mayor Kelly under present circumstances? I also suggested she and fellow council members seriously reconsider their support for the new convention centre for obvious reasons.

    I haven’t had any response.

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE