open letter to employees of the Halifax Regional Municipality

Dear colleagues,

A heartfelt open letter to employees of the Halifax Regional Municipality:

These are stressful times. We know staff are working harder than ever at keeping Halifax running. You are keeping our residents informed, served and safe. We value you and your efforts and we are conscious of the impact on you and your families.

COVID-19 has changed the way we interact, changed our economy and is changing the way our municipality functions. It will take time to figure out what happens next, and we don’t know what changes are coming. We are aware of how this situation causes uncertainty to you and all of our colleagues.

It is very unfortunate some people are being irresponsible and causing you unnecessary fear and anxiety. Please do not listen to rumour and speculation, listen to the leaders who encourage you and provide hope – your managers, senior directors, the Mayor and Regional Council.

While we don’t know what the future holds, difficult decisions lie ahead.  Our concern is always for the safety and security of you and your loved ones, and residents of HRM.

Keep up the great work and stay safe.


Yours sincerely,

  • Mayor Savage, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Councillor Steve Streatch, District 1 Waverley – Fall River – Musquodoboit Valley
  • Councillor David Hendsbee, District 2 Preston – Chezzetcook – Eastern Shore
  • Councillor Bill Karsten, District 3 Dartmouth South – Eastern Passage
  • Councillor Lorelei Nicoll, District 4 Cole Harbour – Westphal
  • Councillor Sam Austin, District 5 Dartmouth Centre
  • Councillor Tony Mancini, District 6 Harbourview – Burnside – Dartmouth East
  • Councillor Waye Mason, District 7 Peninsula South Downtown
  • Councillor Lindell Smith, District 8 Peninsula North
  • Councillor Shawn Cleary, District 9 Armdale Peninsula West
  • Councillor Russell Walker, District 10 Halifax – Bedford Basin West
  • Councillor Steve Adams, District 11 Spryfield – Sambro Loop – Prospect Road
  • Councillor Richard Zurawski, District 12 Timberlea – Beechville – Clayton Park West
  • Councillor Lisa Blackburn, District 14 Middle/Upper Sackville – Beaver Bank – Lucasville
  • Councillor Paul Russell, District 15 Lower Sackville
  • Councillor Tim Outhit, District 16 Bedford – Wentworth

One comment on “open letter to employees of the Halifax Regional Municipality

Comments are closed.